Hi! I'm a newbie!

Welcome to all our family and friends. Patients, families, caregivers, therapists, nurses, doctors, anyone with a concern for and interest in lymphedema is most welcome!!!

Moderators: Birdwatcher, jenjay, Cassie, patoco, Senior Moderators

Hi! I'm a newbie!

Postby mimisweet » Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:46 pm

Hi, First I'd like to thank everyone responsible for this website. I'm hoping to find answers along the way.
I was diagnosed with Lipo-lymphedema in May of this year. Completely took me by surprise! My medical dr had suggested that I get some compression socks for my right leg that was swollen. The fitters at The Medical Store suggested that I get some PT to bring some of the swelling down and gave me the names of 3 physical therapists. I chose one and she is the one that diagnosed this. For me, this disease, illness, condition (whatever we call it) has caused intense itching. It's constant and unrelenting. I've tried lotions, oils, poison ivy lotions and nothing seems to work. I purchased circ-aids but have had to stop wearing them because of the itching. Right now, I'm not using any compression. My legs look terrible! All kinds of sores from the scratching. Today I woke up to my stomach being purple. After speaking with the PT she felt that I had progressed to another stage where my capillaries are now being damaged. I really have no idea where to go or what to do. My medical doctor had never heard of this. I tried MLD but that didn't seem to work at all. I do look here on the site for answers and suggestions. I also read that I am not alone and this helps me get through some of the days. My PT has one other patient here in VT that has Lipedema and has put me in touch with her.

Thanks for being here!
mimisweet

Re: Hi! I'm a newbie!

Postby patoco » Sat Aug 13, 2011 10:16 am

Hey Mimi

Super welcome to our family :!: :!: